66 pages 2 hours read

Brandon Mull


Fiction | Novel | Middle Grade | Published in 2006

A modern alternative to SparkNotes and CliffsNotes, SuperSummary offers high-quality Study Guides with detailed chapter summaries and analysis of major themes, characters, and more. For select classroom titles, we also provide Teaching Guides with discussion and quiz questions to prompt student engagement.


Teacher Introduction


  • Genre: Fiction; middle grade fantasy
  • Originally Published: 2006
  • Reading Level/Interest: Lexile 700L; Ages 9-13
  • Structure/Length: 19 chapters; approximately 384 pages; approximately 9 hours, 13 minutes on audio
  • Protagonist/Central Conflict: Fablehaven is the first book in a fantasy series that follows the adventures of siblings Kendra and Seth Sorenson, who are sent to stay with their grandparents at the mysterious Fablehaven estate. The central conflict revolves around the discovery that Fablehaven is a refuge for mythical creatures and beings; the siblings must learn to navigate this hidden world of magic, danger, and enchantment. As they uncover the secrets of Fablehaven, they become entwined in a battle to protect this sanctuary from dark forces. The novel explores general themes of bravery, family, and the magic of the unknown.
  • Potential Sensitivity Issues: Danger; magical creatures; the battle between good and evil

Brandon Mull, Author

  • Bio: American author known for his middle grade and young adult fantasy novels; celebrated for imaginative world-building and relatable characters; has authored popular series, captivated readers with richly crafted worlds and adventures, and garnered a dedicated fanbase
  • Other Works: Beyonders series (2011-2013); Five Kingdoms series (2014-2016); Dragonwatch series (2017-present)
  • Awards: Association for Mormon Letters Award for Young Adult Literature (2006); Nevada Young Readers’ Award (2009); Tennessee Volunteer State Book Award (2009-2010); Utah Best of State for Literary Arts—Fiction (2010)