93 pages 3 hours read

Margaret Peterson Haddix


Fiction | Novel | YA | Published in 2008

A modern alternative to SparkNotes and CliffsNotes, SuperSummary offers high-quality Study Guides with detailed chapter summaries and analysis of major themes, characters, and more. For select classroom titles, we also provide Teaching Guides with discussion and quiz questions to prompt student engagement.



  • Genre: Fiction; young-adult science fiction
  • Originally Published: 2008
  • Reading Level/Interest: Lexile 750L; grades 4-8
  • Structure/Length: Prologue, 33 chapters; approx. 336 pages; approx. 6 hours, 57 minutes on audio
  • Protagonist/Central Conflict: Thirteen-year-old Jonah has always known he was adopted, but when he and his other adopted friend Chip begin receiving mysterious letters saying they’re part of “the missing,” Jonah, Chip, and Jonah’s sister Katherine find themselves in the middle of a mystery involving the FBI, a smuggling ring, and people who can time travel.
  • Potential Sensitivity Issues: Mild violence and use of a taser; adoption 

Margaret Peterson Haddix, Author

  • Bio: Born in Ohio in 1964; attended Ohio’s Miami University and studied English, journalism, creative writing, and history; worked as a journalist before turning to fiction writing; has written more than 40 works, among them New York Times bestsellers, American Library Association award winners, and state reader’s choice award recipients
  • Other Works: Among the Hidden (1998), first in The Shadow Children series; Just Ella (1999), first in The Palace Chronicles series; The Strangers (2019), first in The Greystone Secrets series
  • Awards: Junior Library Guild Premier Selection (2008); Bank Street Best Children’s Book of the Year Selection (2008)       

CENTRAL THEMES connected and noted throughout this Teaching Unit:

  • Who Am I?
  • Trusting Oneself and Others
  • Newfound Truths Versus Long-Standing Beliefs