96 pages 3 hours read

J. K. Rowling

Harry Potter And The Goblet Of Fire

Fiction | Novel | Middle Grade | Published in 2000

A modern alternative to SparkNotes and CliffsNotes, SuperSummary offers high-quality Study Guides with detailed chapter summaries and analysis of major themes, characters, and more. For select classroom titles, we also provide Teaching Guides with discussion and quiz questions to prompt student engagement.


Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

  • Genre: Fiction; middle-grade fantasy adventure
  • Originally Published: 2000
  • Reading Level/Interest: Lexile 880L; grades 3-7
  • Structure/Length: 37 chapters; approx. 750 pages; approx. 20 hours, 3 minutes on audio
  • Protagonist and Central Conflict: Harry Potter is 14 and back to Hogwarts for another year of wizarding education when the school announces it will compete against two other renowned magical schools during the legendary Triwizard Tournament. Students must be 17 to compete, but the Goblet of Fire names Harry, which means he must pass three tests and face his greatest magical challenge yet. Harry’s portentous dream before returning to Hogwarts reveals that a secret source of evil is quietly pursuing him, so he must be more vigilant than ever while overcoming the deadliest test of his young life.
  • Potential Sensitivity Issues: Death, some violence

J. K. Rowling, Author

  • Bio: Born in 1965 in Gloucestershire, England; enjoyed storytelling and books as a child and Tolkien and Dickens in college; earned a degree in French from the University of Exeter; attempted novel writing while working as a bilingual secretary for Amnesty International; finished Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone after her divorce and while studying to become a teacher; rejected by 12 publishers initially, but found enormous success after Bloomsbury Publishing accepted the book; has received a variety of body-of-work awards and honorary degrees
  • Other Works: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (1997); The Chamber of Secrets (1998); Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (1999); Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (2001); Cormoran Strike series (as Robert Galbraith; 2012-2020)
  • Awards: Hugo Award for science fiction and fantasy (2001)