95 pages 3 hours read

J. K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone

Fiction | Novel | Middle Grade | Published in 1997

A modern alternative to SparkNotes and CliffsNotes, SuperSummary offers high-quality Study Guides with detailed chapter summaries and analysis of major themes, characters, and more. For select classroom titles, we also provide Teaching Guides with discussion and quiz questions to prompt student engagement.


Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

  • Genre: Fiction; middle grade fantasy adventure
  • Originally Published: 1997
  • Reading Level/Interest: Lexile 880L; grades 4-7
  • Structure/Length: 17 chapters; approx. 309 pages; approx. 8 hours, 18 minutes on audio
  • Protagonist and Central Conflict: Young Harry Potter lives with his cruel aunt, uncle, and cousin in Surrey, England, believing that his parents died in an accident when he was a baby. On his 11th birthday, however, Harry learns that he is actually a wizard, and that his attendance is expected at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Embracing his new life as a student wizard, he meets new friends and mentors, learns the truth about his parents’ demise, and contends with multiple evil nemeses.
  • Potential Sensitivity Issues: Violence; death, including death of parents; magic and sorcery

J. K. Rowling, Author

  • Bio: Born in 1965 in Gloucestershire, England; enjoyed storytelling and books as a child and Tolkien and Dickens in college; earned a degree in French from the University of Exeter; began attempting novels while working as a bilingual secretary for Amnesty International; finished Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone after divorcing and while studying to become a teacher; rejected by 12 publishers initially, but found enormous success in what would become the Harry Potter series with Bloomsbury Publishing’s acceptance of the book; has received a variety of body-of-work awards and honorary degrees
  • Other Works: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (1998); Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (1999); Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (2000); Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (2001); Cormoran Strike series (as Robert Galbraith; 2012-2020)
  • Awards: Children’s Book of the Year (British Book Awards for Philosopher’s Stone; 1998); ALA Notable Book (1998)