86 pages 2 hours read

Neil Gaiman

Norse Mythology

Fiction | Novel | Adult | Published in 2017

A modern alternative to SparkNotes and CliffsNotes, SuperSummary offers high-quality Study Guides with detailed chapter summaries and analysis of major themes, characters, and more. For select classroom titles, we also provide Teaching Guides with discussion and quiz questions to prompt student engagement.


Norse Mythology

  • Genre: Fiction; mythological retellings in short story form
  • Originally Published: 2017
  • Reading Level/Interest: Lexile 830L; grades 9-12; college/adult
  • Structure/Length: 15 stories; approx. 304 pages; approx. 6 hours, 30 minutes on audio
  • Protagonist and Central Conflict: In this collection of retellings, the author reveals the nine worlds of Norse mythology and describes the actions and conflicts of Odin, Thor, Loki, and others.
  • Potential Sensitivity Issues: War; violence, including graphic violence; bestiality, self-harm

Neil Gaiman, Author

  • Bio: Born in Hampshire, England, in 1960; an early reader and lover of fantasy, especially Tolkien and C. S. Lewis; pursued journalism as an early career; inspired to write comics and comic scripts by Alan Moore (Swamp Thing); went on to write comics for DC, Marvel, and other publications; first novel (Good Omens; 1990) was a collaboration with Terry Pratchett; first met with big success with American Gods (2001); participates in radio and public readings and pursues screenwriting and audiobook projects
  • Other Works: American Gods (2001); Coraline (2002); The Graveyard Book (2008); The Silver Dream (2013); The Ocean at the End of the Lane (2013)
  • Awards: Prix Vienne for Best Writer (1993); Kemi Award for Best International Writer (1994); Stoker Award (1994, 2003, and 2004); Lucca Award for Best Writer (1997); Nax Und Moritz Award for Best Foreign Writer (1998); Hugo Award (2000, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2009, and 2016); Nebula Award (2003 and 2004); Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire (2006); Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award (2007); Newbery Medal (2009); Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children’s Book Award (2009); Kurt Vonnegut Jr Award For Literature (2010); Boston Public Library Literary Lights For Children (2010); Shirley Jackson Award (2011); British National Book Awards, Book of the Year (2013)