64 pages 2 hours read

Mildred D. Taylor

Roll of Thunder, Hear my Cry

Fiction | Novel | Middle Grade | Published in 1976

A modern alternative to SparkNotes and CliffsNotes, SuperSummary offers high-quality Study Guides with detailed chapter summaries and analysis of major themes, characters, and more. For select classroom titles, we also provide Teaching Guides with discussion and quiz questions to prompt student engagement.


Teacher Introduction

Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry

  • Genre: Fiction; middle grade historical
  • Originally Published: 1976
  • Reading Level/Interest: Lexile 920L; grades 5-8
  • Structure/Length: 12 chapters; approximately 288 pages; approximately 7 hours, 28 minutes on audio
  • Protagonist/Central Conflict: Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry is set in the racially segregated American South during the Great Depression. The central conflict revolves around Cassie Logan, a nine-year-old Black girl, and her family as they confront racism, injustice, and economic hardship in their community. As they face various challenges including discrimination and violence, Cassie and her family draw strength from their unity and resilience. The novel demonstrates the effects of racial prejudice and social injustice and the power of family bonds.
  • Potential Sensitivity Issues: Dated, insensitive, and racist language; racism, discrimination, and violence

Mildred D. Taylor, Author

  • Bio: Born in 1943; American author known for her contributions to children’s and young adult literature, particularly for her exploration of African American history and experiences; celebrated for her many works, including the series of novels that revolve around the Logan family and their experiences in the American South
  • Other Works: Song of the Trees (1975); Let the Circle Be Unbroken (1981); The Land (2001)
  • Awards: Newbery Medal (1977); Coretta Scott King Honor Award (1977)