Chasing Lincoln’s Killer Timeline of the Assassination

James L. Swanson

Chasing Lincoln’s Killer

  • 25-page comprehensive study guide
  • Features 14 chapter summaries and 4 sections of expert analysis
  • Written by a professional writer who specializes in literary analysis
Access Full Summary

Chasing Lincoln’s Killer Timeline of the Assassination

March 4, 1865

Lincoln delivers his Second Inaugural Address, with Booth among those present.

March 17, 1865

Booth and his conspirators plan to kidnap Lincoln.

April 9, 1865

The Civil War ends with General Robert E. Lee’s surrender at the Appomattox courthouse.

April 14, 1865

Lincoln is assassinated by John Wilkes Booth at Ford’s Theater, and Secretary of State Edward Stanton is wounded at his home by Booth’s co-conspirator Lewis Powell.

April 15, 1865

Booth and Herold arrive at the house of Dr. Samuel Mudd. In the early hours, Lincoln is pronounced officially dead. Later that day, the conspirators depart Mudd’s home and proceed toward the Potomac River.

April 16, 1865

Easter Sunday, this day is declared a national day of mourning.

April 17, 1865

The manhunt makes headway, as Lewis Powell is arrested as well as Michael O’Laughlen, Edman Spangler, Samuel Arnold, and Mary Surratt.

April 19, 1865

Lincoln’s funeral takes place.

April 20, 1865

George Atzerodt is captured in Maryland. To…

This is just a preview. The entire section has 278 words. Click below to download the full study guide for Chasing Lincoln’s Killer.