92 pages 3 hours read

Katherine Applegate

Home of the Brave

Fiction | Novel/Book in Verse | Middle Grade | Published in 2007

A modern alternative to SparkNotes and CliffsNotes, SuperSummary offers high-quality Study Guides with detailed chapter summaries and analysis of major themes, characters, and more. For select classroom titles, we also provide Teaching Guides with discussion and quiz questions to prompt student engagement.


Home of the Brave

  • Genre: Fiction; middle-grade contemporary realistic
  • Originally Published: 2007
  • Reading Level/Interest: Lexile NP; grades 5-9
  • Structure/Length: 4 parts, epilogue; approx. 272 pages; approx. 2 hours, 47 minutes on audio
  • Protagonist and Central Conflict: Kek is a refugee from Sudan who now lives in Minnesota with his aunt and cousin. His father and brother are dead, and his mother is missing. As he tries to assimilate into American culture and the Refugee Resettlement Center attempts to find his mother, Kek makes friends with an unlikely group of people, including a cow, and becomes a beacon of hope for those around him.
  • Potential Sensitivity Issues: Death of family members; missing parents; refugee resettlement; atrocity crimes in Sudan; body mutilation  

Katherine Applegate, Author

  • Bio: Born in Ann Arbor, Michigan, in 1956; lived in six different states and in Pelago, Italy; began career ghostwriting for the Sweet Valley Twins series; best known as the author of the Animorphs, Remnants, and Everworld series; won the 2013 Newberry Medal for The One and Only Ivan; her most popular books are her science fiction, fantasy, and adventure novels
  • Other Works: Making Waves (1993); Zoey Fools Around (1994); June Dreams (1995); The Invasion (1996); Search for Senna (1999); The Mayflower Project (2001); Never Glue Your Friends to Chairs (2008); The One and Only Ivan (2012); Wishtree (2017); The One and Only Bob (2020); Doggo and Pupper (2021); Willodeen (2021); Odder (2022)
  • Awards: SCBWI Golden Kite Award for Best Fiction (2008); Josette Frank Award (2008); Judy Lopez Memorial Award honor book (2008)